COWDENBEATH have learned their opponents in the SPFL Trust Trophy for the upcoming campaign after the draw was conducted this afternoon.

Dougie Hill's men were in the hat as ties for rounds one and two of the revamped competition were made, and they have landed a home tie in the first.

The Blue Brazil are one of six Lowland League clubs - alongside Albion Rovers, Berwick Rangers, Bo'ness United, East Kilbride and East Stirlingshire - that were in the draw alongside 11 SPFL Premiership 'B' teams, and Highland League outfits Banks o' Dee, Brechin City, Buckie Thistle, Formartine United and Fraserburgh.

For the first round, the draw was regionalised and seeded, with the Lowland League clubs in the 'South' section, and their Highland League counterparts in the 'North'.

READ MORE: Blues boss on recruitment drive ahead of new season

Those clubs were seeded, with the top flight 'B' teams unseeded and split between both sides of the draw, and the Blue Brazil have been handed a match with Kilmarnock 'B' at Central Park, to be played during the midweek of July 30-31.

Should Cowden progress against the Ayrshire outfit, they would travel to play either Hibernian 'B' or Albion Rovers in round two, the draw for which was regionalised but not seeded, and included the clubs who finished from fourth to tenth in the 2023/24 SPFL League Two table.

The second round will be played on August 13-14 for a place in round three, which will see the remainder of the SPFL clubs enter the tournament.

From the third round, there will be no regionalisation or seeding in the tournament, which will not feature any cross-border clubs.

First invited in 2016, teams from Wales, Northern Ireland, Republic of Ireland and England have all previously featured, but SPFL chief executive, Neil Doncaster, previously stated that their involvement "does further complicate our already congested fixture schedule".

There will also be increased prize money on offer in this season's competition, totalling a record-breaking £790,000, with £100,000 for the winner, whilst home and away clubs that participate in a tie that is chosen for live TV coverage by BBC Alba will receive a 'facility fee payment' of £1,500.

SPFL Trust Trophy, First Round:

South section:

Berwick Rangers v St Mirren 'B'

COWDENBEATH v Kilmarnock 'B'

East Kilbride v Celtic 'B'

Hibernian 'B' v Albion Rovers

Motherwell 'B' v East Stirlingshire

Rangers 'B' v Bo'ness United.

North section:

Banks o' Dee v Aberdeen 'B'

Buckie Thistle v Dundee United 'B'

Dundee 'B' v Formartine United

Fraserburgh v Heart of Midlothian 'B'

St Johnstone 'B' v Brechin City.

SPFL Trust Trophy, Second Round:

South section:

Clyde v Rangers 'B' or Bo'ness United

Dumbarton v Berwick Rangers or St Mirren 'B'

Hibernian 'B' or Albion Rovers v COWDENBEATH or Kilmarnock 'B'

Motherwell 'B' or East Stirlingshire v East Kilbride or Celtic 'B'

Stranraer v Bonnyrigg Rose.

North section:

Buckie Thistle or Dundee United 'B' v Dundee 'B' or Formartine United

East Fife v St Johnstone 'B' or Brechin City

Elgin City v Banks o' Dee or Aberdeen 'B'

Fraserburgh or Heart of Midlothian 'B' v Forfar Athletic.