Alloa Athletic 0 Cowdenbeath 1

Premier Sport Cup Group D

A FINE performance gave Cowden their first Group D win last night at the Indodrill Stadium.

The Fifers went into the game without skipper Craig Barr, but Ross Clarke started his first game since his recovery from a double ankle break at left-back, which let Craig Thomson stand in for the captain.

They were both excellent, as was Fraser Mullen, returning after suspension, and along with Cammy Gill and Jamie Todd, made the Blue Brazil highly competitive throughout.

Alloa had a lot of the ball but Gary Bollan's men created the better chances and moved into third spot in the group.

In six minutes Cowden had the first shot at goal when Alloa’s Dan Church conceded a corner and after Mullen’s delivery, the ball broke to Kyle Miller on the edge of the box but his shot flew just over.

The Wasps responded through a Steven Boyd drive which was well held by Gill.

Cowdenbeath had made a confident start to the game and in 19 minutes Harvey Swann’s 12 yarder went just wide, but two minutes later the home team won a free-kick on the edge of the box through a Todd tackle on Connor Sammon, but Craig Taggart’s set piece flew over Gill’s bar.

Boyd’s angled drive was covered by Gill and former Blue Brazilian Jon Robertson saw his shot blocked by Mullen.

Alloa kept pressing forwards towards the interval, but good work by Gill, Todd, Mullen and Thomson ensured a goalless scoreline.

The Wasps saw Sammon and Cawley go close early in the second period but in 54 minutes Cowdenbeath took the lead.

Following good leading up work, Liam BUCHANAN was given time to steady himself before firing a low right foot shot past Parry.

Two minutes later the veteran Cowden front man brought out a fine save from the Wasps’ ‘keeper.

At the other end, Sammon was out of luck when he fired just off target.

Alloa kept pushing for an equaliser but Stefan Scougall's effort was just too high and Cowden held on for a fine win.

Alloa Athletic: Parry (7); Taggart (6), Church (6) (Armstrong 65 (3)); Howie (7), Graham (6), Scougall (7); Cawley (7) (Armour 74 (3)), Robertson (7), Sammon (6), King (6), Boyd (7). Subs not used, Jamieson, O’Donnell, McDowall, Williamson and Evans.

Cowdenbeath: Cammy Gill (7); Fraser Mullen (7), Craig Thomson (7); Jamie Todd (7), Ross Clarke (7) (Ross Pollock 76 (3)), Kyle Miller (7); Harvey Swann (6) (Robbie Buchanan 70 (3)), Kyle Hutton (7), Kris Renton (7) (Luke Mahady 63 (3)), Liam Buchanan (8), Bobby Barr (7). Subs not used, Jacob Glass, James Collins and Dave McGurn (gk).

Referee-Calum Scott (7).