IT was a fantastic Friday night at Lochgelly Raceway last weekend with a great 4 formula line up, providing some excellent on track entertainment, writes our Raceway reporter Kevin McQueen.

Despite very little in the way of yellow flags, there was plenty to keep the spectators entertained throughout the night as the battles for the various championships raced on into the closing stages of the season.

The CC Rod track championship was decided on Friday night, with Ian Donaldson taking the title and will wear the silver roof for the 2020 season. In the Ministox, Mitchell Gold claimed the HRP National Points championship after opening up a gap that is now mathematically impossible to close up, with just one meeting remaining for the formula in 2019.

The 1300 Stock Cars will see the track championship go right to the end, with the title being decided on Saturday November 2 in a hotly contested battle between Eddie Corr and Sean Naismith.

The CC Rods rounded off their 2019 season with another strong performance with little in the way of major incidents, but some excellent door to door and bumper to bumper action. It was the lower grade drivers that dominated proceedings as Paul Winfield swept to a superb hat trick of race wins, while fellow white grade driver Andy Nelson had a similar fate of a hat trick of runner up spots!

The two drivers had very little between them all night with no more than two car lengths between them in each of the three races as Nelson did his utmost to overcome Winfield throughout.

Behind them, the battles were intriguing as the rest of the pack battled it out for the best of the rest spots. Dylan Coutts continues to perform as he took away 3 top 5 finishes on the night, with Ian Donaldson being the only star grade driver to finish in the top three on the night – coming in the meeting final.

The ProStocks had a number of drivers having difficulties with transponders on the night, which seen the actual results vary somewhat against how they actually crossed the line with a number of drivers falling foul to the rules of the formula. On track, around 15 cars took to the tarmac to provide some excellent racing – Dougie Kidd and Tam Melrose had some super battles throughout the night as they traded places on a number of occasions in each of the races.

The opening heat of the night went the way of Ryan Martin, coming home ahead of Ross Stewart and Tam Melrose. Jim Pitcaithly made an outing the formula, but struggled for reliability in his car throughout the evening.

The 2nd race of the night for the ProStocks seen Dougie Kidd come from the back of the grid to take the race win ahead of Tam Melrose and Ryan Martin, with Kidd surviving a last lap hit from Melrose to hold onto the win. The meeting final seen the numbers fall away with cars having suffered some damage in the heats, and it was Ryan Martin who was again successful. Tam Melrose continued to impress following his return to racing a couple of weeks ago as he took another 2nd place, with Ian Christie taking the final podium position on the meeting final.

The Ministox had another great meeting as they rounded up another great season at Lochgelly Raceway.

Stoke based Aaron Richards completed his 100% attendance record for 2019 as he took the opening race win on the night, after coming from the back of the grid to take the win.

Former Ninja Kart star Robbie Armit finished in 2nd and Mitch Gold completed the top three – which was enough to secure the points championship.

Lewis Burgoyne made a rare outing at Lochgelly Raceway but took little time to find his ways, as he raced to a heat 2 victory, beating Richards and Gold to the line.

The meeting final saw Brandon Morton lead the way in the early stages before he was reeled in by the chasing pack, led by Mitch Gold, with Aaron Richards just behind. Gold and Richards would battle it out amongst themselves in the closing stages of the race as they duelled for the win, though is was Gold that came out on top on this occasion. Robbie Armit completed a good night with another podium finish.

The 1300 Stock Cars have arguably saved their best form of the season until the end of the campaign as a great turn out of cars saw some super on-track action throughout as they raced for the Mr Gunn Trophy.

Over 20 cars took to the track for the first domestic meeting in 2019. With the large field of cars, it gave the lower graded drivers an opportunity to stretch a lead at the front before the rest of the field caught up and Regan Watson took the opening race win, with Rory Naismith finishing 2nd, with the first star grade driver, Eddie Corr completing the top three in the opening race.

Rory Naismith went one better in heat 2 as he took the race win, with Corr finishing 2nd and Regan Watson hanging on for third position.

The meeting final saw the grid closed up and the bumpers going in from the outset. The star graded drivers put in a push in the early stages as the front cars ran wide and allowed the pack to make contact. As the laps drew in, it was Eddie Corr who had got himself into the lead of the race and never looked like being caught, thought Stuart Farrel and Rory Naismith had a good battle for 2nd place, alongside Craig Haxton and Billy Wilson. It was Farrell who took the 2nd place finish behind Corr, with Naismith completing the top three.

We are back in action this Saturday night from 5pm;

A ladies race will take place with the 1300 stock cars, alongside a number of passenger experiences. Over 30 1300 Stock Cars are expected to be in attendance for the final outing of the season for the formula, whilst the Superstox and Micro Bangers also feature.