IT was another excellent Saturday night of stock car racing at Lochgelly Raceway as the 2.0 Hot Rods raced for their Scottish Championship in what was an eventful evening!, writes our Raceway correspondent Kevin McQueen.

The Ministox were in action and as the season draws to a close, the drivers continue to put on a show.

The first race of the evening saw a number of stoppages for on track incidents with a few cars clattering the wall on several occasions, notably William Wallace and Sam Cavanagh, with both cars going up on to two wheels as they came to blow against the wall on the entrance to the home straight.

Aaron Richards has claimed the Lochgelly Track Championship from his base in Stoke which is a remarkable achievement.

Mitchell Gold took the opening race win of the night as he continues to try and claim the HRP National Points championship, with Scott Allardyce less than 20 points behind. The second race of the evening for the youngsters saw a first race win for Charlie Henry. Henry was in great form throughout the night as she battled away with those challenging her, trading hits throughout the night as she looked to score as many points as possible.

Brandon Morton brought his car home in 2nd place for the first time on the night. The meeting final saw Charlie Hardie take his first race win from blue grade as he looks to keep up the fight for the Novice of the Year title, which is currently being led by Rian Mitchell with Jake Wilson not far behind.

Brandon Morton claimed another 2nd position as the lower graded drivers dominated proceedings with Aaron Richards being the first star graded driver across the line in 3rd position.

The Ninja Karts saw just under 30 karts take to the track as they continued their impressive 2019 season.

The youngsters were racing for the JusBounce trophy where the points are scored based on a multiplier system based on the drivers grade.

The first race of the night was the whites and yellows race which saw Bailey Wilson make his debut in the formula after turning 6 just last week! Leeland Dearn and Kenzie Kopacz had a great race between themselves as they battled for the win in the opening race, with Dearn finishing just ahead to claim the opening race win, with Kopacz second and Saul Galloway completing the top three.

Jake Ashby made the visit north and couldn’t have started his evening off any better as he claimed a race win in his first race of the night, pipping Dougie Kidd to the line. Demi Ritchie completed the top three.

The 2nd main heat of the night seen another large field of karts on track and a number of incidents. A coming together between Jake Ashby and a couple of other karts, saw Ashby removed from the race due to contact.

Dougie Kidd claimed the race win with Kayden Connor finishing 2nd and Demi Ritchie finishing 3rd after crossing the line just inches ahead of Lewis Duffy.

The final race of the evening for the youngsters was another excellent race. Kenzie Bell, who has had an outstanding season in the formula capped it off, with his first win from red grade as he overcome Keiron Hay on the final lap of the race, with Jake Ashby finishing in third.

It was Jake Ashby who claimed the JusBounce Trophy and takes the shield to England for the second year in succession.

The Superstox were in action and Allan Gibson claimed his first win of the season in the opening race of the night ahead of Bryan Forrest who went on to claim a hat trick of 2nd places on the night. Adam Low won the 2nd heat of the evening after holding of Bryan Forrest, with Aaron Riddell taking third position.

The meeting final seen Bryan Forrest claim the lead around mid way through the race, however, an engine misfire allowed Adam Low to put in a challenge on the last lap.

Forrest did his utmost to hold onto the lead, however, Low had his nose up the inside and was squeezed up over the kerb alongside the Bryan Forrest car. The sparks flew as Low continued to try and take the lead and his efforts were rewarded as he crossed the line ahead of Forrest and Riddell. The Stock Rods seen the HRP and GMP cars join forces as they took to the track to provide some excellent racing throughout the night. Ian Low returned to action following a period on the sidelines and took the opening race win, just ahead of Chris Lattka, with Kris Simpson finishing in 3rd position.

The second race of the evening seen Brett Sneddon claim his first win of the season as he showed some great pace. Stewart Paterson finished in second place, whilst Darren McAlpine was the first of the star grade drivers to cross the line in third, in a race that seen a number of cars rubbing and bumping throughout as they diced for position.

The meeting final was won by Darren McAlpine after a flag to flag victory, with Lee McGill finishing 2nd despite a late charge from Brett Sneddon as he looked to close the gap and a track that was becoming wetter as the race went on.

The final formula in action was the 2.0 Hot Rods – racing for their 2019 Scottish Championship. The opening race of the night seen an excellent battle up front between Gerry Hendry and Marc Fortune, with Kevin Stewart just behind.

The lead two swapped places with Fortune taking the lead before Hendry came back at him to retake the lead, before the cars tangled with which seen Hendry spinning up the back straight and Kevin Stewart clattering the back of Marc Fortune with all three cars out of proceedings, this allowed Jim Pitcaithly to sneak through and claim the opening race win ahead of Andrew Denholm.

Brian Wilson went onto claim the 2nd race of the night in comfortable fashion, leading for the majority of the race, with Jim Pitcaithly finishing 2nd and Kevin Stewart third.

The Scottish Championship grid was formed and Jim Pitcaithly and Andrew Denholm formed the front row of the grid. Denholm got away excellently and took an early lead with Pitcaithly just behind. Pitcaithly kept up the pressure though and his efforts were rewarded as he took the race lead, and held on despite Denholm’s best efforts. Scott Devine completed the top three.

This week the 1300 Stock Cars, Ministox, ProStocks and CC Rods are in action on Friday night!