ELECTION fever is to hit Fife after a General Election date was confirmed.

Four MPs will be chosen for the Kingdom when the polls open on July 4 with voters seeing some changes at the ballot box after a shake up to the political boundaries.

The Dunfermline and West Fife constituency has changed to Dunfermline and Dollar with other constituencies being Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy, Glenrothes and Mid Fife and North East Fife.

After sitting MP Douglas Chapman announced his plans to step down, the new Dunfermline and Dollar seat will be contested by two councillors, Naz Anis-Miah for the SNP and Graeme Downie for Labour, as well as Ryan Blackadder for the Scottish Green Party.

Lauren Buchanan-Quigley is the Liberal Democrat candidate, George Morton is standing as an independent and the Conservatives have Thomas Heald in the running. 

READ MORE: Political map change will see Yetts of Muckhart locals elect Dunfermline's MP

In Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy, current MP Neale Hanvey will be standing for the Alba Party as he attempts to retain his seat.

He will go up against SNP councillor Lesley Backhouse, Melanie Ward for Labour, Mags Hall for the Scottish Greens and Fraser Graham for the Scottish Liberal Democrats. The Conservatives have not yet unveiled their candidate.

In the Glenrothes and Mid Fife region, the candidates already confirmed are John Beare for the SNP, Labour's Richard Baker and Jill Reilly from the Scottish Liberal Democrats.

In North East Fife, Lib Dem's Wendy Chamberlain will be bidding to retain her seat. She will be up against Labour's Jennifer Gallagher, Stefan Hoggan-Radu of the SNP, Bill Bowman from the Conservatives and Morven Overstone-Jones form the Scottish Green Party.

As previously reported, the boundary changes will see Dunfermline and Dollar go as far north as Yetts of Muckhart while also taking in Forestmill and Dollar.

The Cowdenbeath and Kirkcaldy constituency now extends further into West Fife, and will now include North Queensferry, Inverkeithing, Crossgates, Hill of Beath and Cowdenbeath and Mossside, which used to be within the Dunfermline and West Fife boundary.

Kelty West moves into Dunfermline and Dollar while Kelty and Oakfield, Ballingry, Lochore, Crosshill and Lochgelly all move into a new Glenrothes and Mid Fife seat.