THE 2019 John Thomson tournament provided a feast of football in memory of Cardenden's Prince of Goalkeepers.

It was a day, at the Moorside Park home of Dundonald Bluebell, which was graced with sunshine and a crowd upwards of 500 people was there to see some thrilling games.

The teams were piped onto the park before being introduced to the convener of Cowdenbeath Area Committee, Councillor Linda Erskine; vice convener Councillor Rosemary Liewald and Councillor Alister Cameron. They were joined by MSPs Annabelle Ewing and Alex Rowley.

Compere for the day was John McPhillips, of the Arthur McKenna Lochgelly Celtic Supporters Club who did an excellent job.

A minute's silence was then held in memory of John Thomson, the Celtic and Scotland goalkeeper who died of injuries sustained in an accident in an Old Firm game at Ibrox Park in 1931, before play commenced.

Councillor Erskine kicked the tournament off and a series of excellent games ensued.

The eventual winners were JT All Stars who defeated Kinglassie Young Team in a very exciting final which had the supporters on the edge of their seats.

Later in the afternoon a number of tournament sponsors and invited guests then made their way to the presentations, The guests included Tosh McKinlay, the ex-Celtic and Scotland full-back; John Fallon, the ex-Celtic 'keeper; and Willie Johnston the former Rangers and Scottish international winger; the Joseph Rafferty CSC and the Celtic Supporters Association, Glasgow.

Also in attendance were members of Lochgelly CSC, Cardenden's John Thomson SC; and the Ballingry CSC, who acted as judges during the tournament.

Every child who participated in the tournament received a memento of the occasion.

Tosh McKinlay gave a short speech during which he praised the organisers for all their hard work on the day and continued by saying he was impressed with the reports of the standard of football exhibited during the tournament and encouraged all the children to train hard and enhance their skills.

The piper then played a lament at John Thomson's graveside before wreaths were laid by Tosh McKinlay; Alex Burns, chairman of the John Thomson committee; John Fallon and Councillor Erskine, plus a number of other organisations which included the John Thomson CSC, Joseph Rafferty CSC, Ore Valley Housing Association and Cardenden Community Council.

Chairman of the Thomson Committee, Alex, said some appropriate words at the graveside to mark the occasion and further wreaths were laid at the monument in memory of those who lost their lives in the Bowhill Colliery Disaster which occurred only a few weeks after John Thomson's death.

The day's activities ended with a finger buffet in the Railway Tavern when the delegation from Glasgow and local CSCs and sponsors joined the committee members.

Alex said: "I would like to thank Celtic legend Tosh McKinlay for giving up his time to come along today to attend and also those from the Supporters Associations, the Kano Foundation and the Supporters Clubs in Lochgelly, Cardenden, Methil, and the Joseph Rafferty club for their backing also.

"Also Cardenden Community Council, Bowhill Centre, Gayle Faulds from the Corrie Centre, youth worker Nicola Wilson and Jim Dowie, plus various supporters groups and all other sponsors for their financial assistance.

"We are also thankful to Dundonald Bluebell for all their help with a special mention for Robert Arnott for marking the pitches along with Fife Council for providing two footballs for the event.

"I would also like to pay tribute to committee members John Parish, Jamie Thomson, Vicky Murdoch, Joanne Cargill, Kevin Burns, Kieran Burns, Alfie Cathcart and Cheryl Gilfillan for their part in the smooth running of the tournament."

A special thanks was also forwarded to Amanda Burns and Kayleigh Jane Burns for all their assistance which included arranging flowers at John Thomson's graveside and arranging a large number of trophies in the Bowhill Centre.

Concluded Alex: "Last but not least I would like to thank the children for participating in this year's tournament."

Hounour List

Winners, JT All Stars; runners-up Kinglassie Young Team. Consolation winners Dundonald Bears; runners-up Rovers Rebels. Most sporting team JT Warriors; top scoring team JT All Stars; Most Promising Young Team JT Warriors.

Individual Awards, Best Player Callum Stewart (JT All Stars); Best 'Keeper Jack Hickman (Dundonald Bears); Most Promising Player Robbie Hodge (Kinglassie YT), Individual Top Scorer Robbie Hodge. Bester Defender Sol Braid (Rovers Rebels). Most Sporting Player Arlo Celentano (JT Warriors). Best Losing 'keeper Taylor Butcher (Dundonald All Stars). Best Goal Scored Charlie Hunter (Bowhill Rovers). Under 10 Endeavour Taylor Butcher. Best Senior Player Finlay Watt (Rovers Rebels). Best Female Player Neive Robertson (Cardenden Lions). Best Midfield Player Joel Hamilton (Kinglassie YT). Captains Best Player Kane Burke (JT All Stars). Best Save Of The Tournament Kacie Inglis (JT All Stars). Best Intermediate Player Marley Watson (JT Warriors).