THE competitions at Cowdenbeath have seen a number of trophies spread around the membership, writes Jack High.

The final of the Watson Trophy took place between Billy Allan and Steven Hunter. Billy got off to the better start scoring two fours in six ends to be 11-4 up. Steven then caught the weight a bit better and drew level at 12-12.

He then lost the plot and lost six ends running to lose 21-12. That qualifies Billy for the West Fife Singles next year.

The final of the Club Pairs, which is drawn from leads and skips so that teams should be of similar strengths. Roy Lawson and Andy Johnstone were playing Davie Duff and Derek Easson.

Andy has an outstanding record in this trophy having won it four out of the previous five years with different leads. Davie and Derek started well and went 9-3 up and held that lead throughout swapping shots. It was a good game played in the right spirit. One or two bowls from each side made the difference when Derek caught the right side of the bowl and Andy didn't when it was close. This qualifies Davie and Derek for the West Fife Gardiner Pairs next year.

The final of the Dewar Trohpy for over 55's was played between 'youngsters' Lindsay Black and Derek Easson. Lindsay caught the weight straight away and went 7-1 up after six ends.

Derek played a few good ends where Lindsay did well to cut him to single shots. Lindsay scored a shot and changed the length slightly whereby his bowls were always in the area. Derek then saved two three's when he played through heads and got the shot. He then missed a few which allowed Lindsay to run out 21-9. Not Derek's day. Lindsay Retained the title he won last year.

The closing of the green saw the Coca Cola Cup Four. Rab Cant's select took on Bobby Reekie's renegades.

The scores were as follows, B Reekie 16 R Cant 14, M Drysdale 15 L Black 15, D Easson 8 R McFarlane 24, Darren Leitch 6 P Graham 18. 45 for Bobby Reekie and 71 for Rab Cant. Bobby handed over the litre of vodka grudgingly with the prediction that he will win next year....

Trophy winners for this year were as follows;

Gents Champion - W Wightman

Ladies Champion - E Beattie

Watson Trophy - W T Allan

Rosebowl Handicap - Alan Leishman

Mixed singles - M Drysdale

Dewar Trophy - L A Black

G B Sinclair - S Hunter

Mens Club Pairs - D Duff D Easson

Mens Rink - L Connor LA Black M Drysdale and A Johnstone

Haldane singles - M Drysdale

Gasrdner Pairs - L Duff and E Connor

Mixed triples B McMillan E McMillan and R McFarlane

Mixed rink was actually played as a triple on the day and won by M Hunter D Hunt and L Connor

The mens pairs and triples were not completed.

In outside Competitions Cowdenbeath had another oustanding season. The ladies (Mary McKay, Emma Connor and Esther Beattie) and gents triples (Peter Graham, Steven Hunter and Robert McFarlane) both lost in the national final at Northfield, Ayr and returned with silver medals.. The men's senior rink of George Beattie, Davie McKay, Lindsay Black and Derek Easson lost their first game at the finals but still won their district.

In the Fife, Paul Jamieson won the men's singles bringing the trophy back to Cowdenbeath for the first time.

In the West Fife Both the triples and rinks retained their trophies. The Triple was John Allan, Steven Hunter and Paul Jamieson. The rink was Alan Leishman, Peter Graham, Andy Johnstone and Robert McFarlane. Peter skipped it last year but elected to change the team round this year - which obviously worked.