New Cowden board meet for first time

Published: 11 Sep 2008 11:000 comments

Cowdenbeath's new board of directors met offically for the first time on Tuesday and are looking forward to a successful season.

Chairman of Cowdenbeath Football Club Ltd, Mr Jim Methven, outlined the new structure and personnel that will be seen at Central Park this season.

Mr Methven said, 'There have been significant changes to the management structure of Cowdenbeath Football Club in recent months as we have adopted a strategy to progress towards a self-sustaining community-orientated club. This strategy includes the intention to relocate to a purpose-built income-generating stadium that will safeguard the long-term future of Cowdenbeath Football Club.

'Changes were also required on the football side of the business to take the club forward following relegation last season. This includes a continued commitment to youth development.

'In light of the recent changes, the Board can confirm the following points in relation to the continued running and management of the club.

'I can confirm that the Board has appointed myself as acting Chairman. to be responsible for the day-to-day management of the business and the relocation of the Football Club.'

'As part of the long term objectives of the Club we wish to see the community of Cowdenbeath and surrounding areas and most importantly the supporters of the be involved in the running and success of CFC making it a real community club.

'To that end we have invited representatives of the supporters to join the Board and I am pleased to announce that David Allan, Treasurer of the Cowdenbeath FC Supporters Club, has agreed to join the Board as Vice-Chairman.'

'David is also joined on the Board by fellow supporters Sandy Ferguson, Graham Thomson, Dave Tuson, Stuart Juner and Ewan Dow and we are delighted to have such committed and well known fans involved in the management of the Club"s affairs'.

Mr Methven continued, 'In keeping with our plans to ensure that supporters have as much of a stake in the running of the club we have also appointed Stuart Juner as our new commercial executive and Ewan Dow as the Club"s new media officer.'

Mr Methven then turned to the subject of the playing side of the Club and said, 'Danny Lennon has made several excellent additions to his coaching and backroom team following his appointment as manager back in June.'

'We are fortunate to have secured the services of some very experienced coaching staff and our commitment to youth development continues as strongly as ever.

'We will also continue to add staff during the season as the club prepares to go back to Youth Elite Performance level.'

'Danny has also added some new players to the squad with Brian Fairbairn, Derek Fleming, John Gemmell, Sandy Hodge, Darren McGregor, Joe Mbu, Marek Tomana and Jay Stein all joining us. We have also secured the services of highly rated young SPL players John Armstrong and Scott Gallagher on loan from Hearts and Rangers respectively.

'We have already seen the fruits of the work Danny and his coaching staff have put in with the Club sitting second top of Division three after Saturday"s unlucky defeat at Stenhousemuir.

'At youth level the Club will be operating in the Youth Initiative League next season and will be competing at under 19, under 16, Under 15 and under 13 levels. In addition, 11 youth players will train with the club on a full-time basis. They are Peter Bradley, Dean Brett, John Ferguson, Ross Galbraith, Chris King, Danny Mackay, Sam Morris, Thomas O'Brien, Jamie Reid, Martin Robinson and Derek Wallace.'

'Finally in terms of player movement over the summer, the Club agreed to release four youth players on their request. They are Kyle Allison, Grant Manzie, Daniel Welsh and Michael Welsh. Matt Hemsley has also negotiated a buy out of his contract and been released.

'On behalf of the Club I"d like to thank all players, staff and directors for their previous service for Cowdenbeath FC.'

Mr Methven also addressed the Club"s current and future ambitions saying, 'The Board has great ambitions for Cowdenbeath Football Club.

"In the short term we continue to work on the plans for the new stadium. We are currently working hard with Fife Council to allow us to move to our new ground sooner rather than later. One thing for certain though is that there will be no redevelopment of Central Park without the Club"s future being secured at a new stadium.'

'We continue to keep a close watch on the Club"s finances and, whilst ensuring that Danny Lennon has an excellent budget for playing staff, make sure that the long term viability of the Club is secure.'

"We are currently in the process of finalising the accounts for season 2007/08 and will publish these in due course.

'In footballing terms the Board and the management of the Club believe that achieving promotion this season is our primary aim and longer term our aim is to see us secure Cowdenbeath FC"s position as an established SFL Second Division club. Who knows with the backing of the local community we may manage even more.'

'All of us at Cowdenbeath Football Club are well aware of the wealth of goodwill towards the Blue Brazil there is in our local communities, the proof of that was the size of the crowd on the day the championship was clinched back in 2006 and the general feel-good factor that was generated by that success was welcomed widely.'

Mr Methven concluded,'We now want to harness that goodwill and ensure that the Cowdenbeath area has a football team to be proud of and to return that feel-good factor. I believe this is an exciting time for Cowdenbeath Football Club. We now have the people in place to make our ambitions a reality and look forward with confidence to this forthcoming season and the years ahead.'

The new Board of Directors will be as follows: Chairman: Jim Methven, Vice Chairman: David Allan, Directors: Alex Benson, Alex Brewster, David Brewster, Sandy Ferguson, Graham Thomson, David Tuson, Stuart Juner, and Ewan Dow.

The new coaching and football backroom team are: Manager: Danny Lennon, Assistant Manager and under 19s: Brian Hamilton, Head of Youth Development and under 19s: Bob Paterson, Chief Scout: Austin McPhee, Under 16s: David Liddle and Scott Linton, Under 15s: Jim Ward and Mark Oliver, Under 13s: Keith Harvey and Steven Fraser, Goalkeeping Coach: Andy Forbes, Physio: John McCreadie

New additions to administrative and support staff are: Groundsman: Ronnie Blair, Financial Controller: Scott Brewster, Commercial executive: Stuart Juner Media officer: Ewan Dow.

Jump to first paragraph.


Have your say - post a comment on this article

Registered users log in here
If you are registered with us, you can login here. If you are not registered, please do so now. Once logged in you wont have to complete word verification each time you post.